AWRW Book Review: “Next Stop: Nina”, by Author Robin Raven @RobinRaven

nextstopninaNina never was one who felt comfortable in this world.

As she struggles to cope with the pain of her present and past, the young girl’s life is changed through the beauty of art. When Nina grows up and winds up in over her head in a dark place, she finds herself somehow transported to another time when nothing is quite what it seems. She must fight the horrors of her past all over again. Along the way, she faces greater challenges than she imagined.

This is a character-driven novel with a heroine who faces life, love, and overcoming suicidal depression on her own terms.

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Time Travel

Page Count: 243

Published: July 19th, 2015, by Batham Press

Goodreads

What’s It About?

“Oh the joys we’d miss if we gave into the darkness that sometimes calls to very sensitive spirits.”

Nina, a troubled, suicidal woman with a dark past, finds herself reliving sections of her life that she would rather not revisit. Still, she finds art and unconditional love a solace to her pain, and she learns the secret to happiness is to not compromise who you are.

My Thoughts

My first initial impressions of Next Stop: Nina, was that it was choppy and had too many chapters. I soon after understood that the author meant this novel to read this way, because Nina’s life was choppy and all over the place due to her “echoing”, aka time traveling. The reader is meant to experience Nina’s life this way because it shifts randomly without warning.

“So my story shifted, and I began again. I discovered me.”

The third chapter ABSOLUTELY hooked me. It was dark and intriguing, and I was eager to read more to find out what would happen next. Chapter four blew me away. I would have read through the night and not have even stopped to blink if I didn’t have other commitments, you know, such as sleeping and being somewhat functional the next morning. 🙂

I liked reading this story through first person perspective. That is a rarity, now-a-days. It felt like the character was talking directly to me, or that I was reading her personal diary. I loved Nina, and enjoyed watching her character develop.

I particularly liked Nina’s connection to the painting in the novel, Autumn Joy, and how it was a continuing theme in the story, including that it inspired her to reach out to the man who painted it, which opened up a whole new world for her. I love a good romance, and a happily-ever-after!

The big revelation from the man who was following her gave me CHILLS, but I wished to know more. How did it happen? Why did it happen? How come she didn’t remember?

Next Stop: Nina is a book that will live in my heart for a long time. I also struggle with depression, and could relate to her, and her feelings. I felt so bad for her that she had to relive tragic situations, over and over again, but I was impressed that she tried her hardest to shift events in an attempt to prevent the inevitable.

“It’s hard to explain how one can be thankful for her blessings, and also want to commit suicide. If you’ve been there, though, I’m sure you know what I mean.”

Overall, I really enjoyed this debut novel of Author Robin Raven, and would recommend it to fans of time travel, with a romantic subplot!

What I Loved

Nina was a sympathetic, likable and relatable character.

First person POV.

Engaging, interesting plot with a time travel theme.

Romantic subplot

What I Disliked

I wished the big, shocking revelation in the car was elaborated on further.

Rating


(4 Star Rating: I really enjoyed this book! I would recommend it to readers who enjoy this particular genre! A well written story that is easy to get lost in and live vicariously through. I will probably read again.)

***In the interest of full disclosure, I received a copy of Next Stop: Nina, by the Author, in exchange for a fair, honest, and thoughtful book review. This in no way swayed my rating.***

Purchase

Amazon, USAAmazon, UK, Amazon, AU

About The Author

Robin Raven“I’m the human who once belonged to the greatest dog that ever lived. Now I do some writing and acting. I’m also a vegan foodie and a hopeful dreamer.”

Website

Twitter

Facebook Fan Page

Google+

Tumblr

Instagram

Pinterest

Comments are welcome and appreciated. Please leave your thoughts below!

