AWRW #WayBackWednesday Book Review: Cobain, by Rolling Stone Magazine & Holly George-Warren

Happy Wednesday, Bookworms!

waybackwednesday Way Back Wednesday is a Book Meme created by A Well Read Woman with the aim to write mini book reviews on books read in the past, that left a lasting impression.

You know what kind of books I am talking about… The ones that you have read multiple times, and they still bring you nostalgia. Books like these are the reason you enjoy reading.

So grab that old-dusty-yet-loved-book off the shelf, glance it over, write a mini review, and join in with me on Wednesdays! EVERYONE is welcome to participate. Full instructions & details, here!

152423

Today’s Way Back Wednesday post is dedicated to the non-fiction biography, Cobain, by Rolling Stone Magazine and Holly George-Warren.

Goodreads Book Synopsis

Years after his suicide, aged 27, Kurt Cobain remains a vital force in today’s music scene. This lavishly illustrated tribute to Nirvana draws on Rolling Stone magazine’s coverage of the band’s too-brief history.

Paperback, 144 pages
Published April 1st 1997 by Little, Brown and Company (first published 1994)
Genre: Biography, Memoir, Non-Fiction

My Thoughts

Although listed as a “biography”, some might argue that it reads more like a scrapbook. Composed of pictures, concert fliers, and interviews throughout Nirvana’s career, this book is a must have for fans of Nirvana and Kurt Cobain.

I lived, breathed, and slept Nirvana as a pre-teenager and a teen. I devoured this book within one night, and nearly had it memorized cover to cover. The image of Kurt Cobain’s face in black and white on the cover will forever haunt me.

To sum up my thoughts, this book is a great collector’s piece for fans of Nirvana!

fivestars

About The Authors

Rolling Stone MagazineRolling Stone is a U.S.-based magazine devoted to music, politics, and popular culture that is published every two weeks. Rolling Stone was founded in San Francisco in 1967 by Jann Wenner (who is still editor and publisher) and music critic Ralph J. Gleason.

Holly George-Warren is an award-winning writer, editor, book packager, producer, and music consultant. She is currently working on a biography of Janis Joplin, which will be published by Simon and Schuster in 2017. She is also the author of A Man Called Destruction: The Life and Music of Alex Chilton, From Box Tops to Big Star to Backdoor Man (Viking, March 2014),Public Cowboy No. 1: The Life and Times of Gene Autry (Oxford University Press, 2007), The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: The First 25 Years (HarperCollins, Sept. 2009), Bonnaroo: What, Which, This, That, the Other (Abrams Image, 2012), Cowboy! How Hollywood Invented the Wild West (Readers Digest Books, 2002), Punk 365 (Abrams, 2007), Grateful Dead 365 (Abrams, 2008); and the children’s books Honky-Tonk Heroes and Hillbilly Angels: The Pioneers of Country & Western Music (Houghton Mifflin, 2006), Shake, Rattle & Roll: The Founders of Rock & Roll (Houghton Mifflin, 2001), and The Cowgirl Way (Houghton Mifflin Harcout, July 2010). She has cowritten several books including John Varvatos: Rock In Fashion (with John Varvatos, September 2013),The Road to Woodstock (with Michael Lang, Ecco 2009), How the West Was Worn (Abrams, 2001), The Working Woman’s Guide to Managing Stress (Prentice-Hall, 1994), and Musicians in Tune: 75 Contemporary Musicians Discuss the Creative Process (Fireside, 1992), which was revised and published as It’s Not Only Rock ‘n’ Roll: Iconic Musicians Reveal the Source of Their Creativity in the UK by John Blake Publishers in 2013. She received her second GRAMMY nomination in 2013 for penning the liner notes to Janis Joplin’s The Pearl Sessions.

Read more at http://www.hollygeorgewarren.com/

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “AWRW #WayBackWednesday Book Review: Cobain, by Rolling Stone Magazine & Holly George-Warren

  1. I wrote a novel that dealt with the shockwaves of Kurt Cobain’s suicide on a group of high school students. It came close to being picked up by a couple of traditional publishers. The last one felt that young people today don’t really know who Kurt Cobain is because they weren’t born yet. I don’t think that is true at all. His image is extremely enduring.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome and appreciated. Please leave your thoughts below!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: