An Interview with Fantasy Author Jennifer Allis Provost

Welcome everyone!

blogger-image--1734886091

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing my good friend Fantasy and Horror Author Jennifer Allis Provost! She is the Author of Heir to the Sun, Rise of the Deva’shi, and Copper Girl. Her work is also featured in Holiday Magick: 20 Holiday Stories with a Twist, Anthology: Year 1 (Vol. 1), UnCONventional: Twenty Two Tales of Paranormal Gatherings Under the Guise of Conventions, and Hell Hath No Fury.

Heir-to-the-Sun-Cover rotd2 coppergirl1

Hi Jenn, thank you for agreeing to this interview! Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

Hi April, and thanks for inviting me! I have somewhat of an eclectic background: I have two degrees (environmental science and marketing), a set of twins (Ember and Robby), a bunch of animals, and an awesome husband who helps me keep it all together. I also work as a publicist for Spencer Hill Press, and I have something of a career in the insurance industry. I guess you could say that I wear many hats.

You certainly do… I really enjoyed reading Copper Girl. Did you enjoy writing it?

I loved writing it! I really identified with the characters, especially Sara and her brother, Max. And, let’s face it, that Micah is pretty swoony.

He sure is, and I pictured you as Sara so it’s funny that you say that! Where did you get your inspiration from for Copper Girl?

Much like Sara, I worked in an over-airconditioned office, and would retreat to my car during my breaks to warm up. There was an odd looking tree near where I parked, and I started wondering if the tree was a gateway to the Otherworld; clearly, the air conditioning had given my brain a serious case of frostbite. Then I took a trip to NH to listen to Neil Gaiman speak, and during drinks afterward I mentioned to my friends that copper was my favorite metal. Yep, that’s really how it happened.

Why do you suppose so many people think Copper Girl is a YA novel?

Probably because my publisher’s parent company specializes in YA. Copper Girl is published by the urban fantasy imprint, Spence City.

Who would you like to see cast in a movie adaptation of Rise of the Deva’shi?

Oh, gosh, I don’t know. The only person I can think of that looks like Latera is Merida from Brave, and she’s a cartoon! And, who could really do Aeolmar justice?

merida

Where did you get your ideas for Heir to the Sun?

Fun fact: I wrote Heir to the Sun after Rise of the Deva’shi. In ROTD, I refer to Asherah, the Faerie Queen, as Asherah the Ruthless, and the Assassin. I started wondering why she was so ruthless, and why Leran hated her so much. As for Caol’nir and Alluria’s story, it just popped in my head one day, nearly complete.

That’s amazing! Out of all your stories, do you have a favorite character?

Aeolmar from my Chronicles of Parthalan series.

I agree, any girl would fall for him.  If you could meet one of the characters you invented, who would it be?

Oh, Aeolmar. Definitely Aeolmar 😉

How did I know you would say that? 🙂 So, what are you working on at the moment, and what is it about?

My current WIP is called Gallowglass, and it follows siblings Karina and Chris Stewart, both of whom are running from their problems in the US by spending a few months on a research grant in the UK; well, Karina’s on a research grant. Chris is mostly just sampling the local whisky. While visiting the old kirk at Aberfoyle, Scotland, Karina accidentally frees Robert Kirk, a seventeenth century man who became the Fairy Queen’s gallowglass. And, chaos ensues.

I’m also working on the next three installments of the Copper Legacy (Copper Ravens is due in May 2014, and Copper Veins and Copper Princess will follow), and a spinoff duology about Max Corbeau (and a girl!) tentatively titled Redemption and Salvation.

You stay very busy Jenn! You are also featured in a lot of books with other authors. Do you enjoy collaborating with other authors?

Well, that depends on the authors. Most of us writer types are pretty awesome.

What is the weirdest thing a fan has ever said to you?

That they were giving me a one star review because the paper was flimsy.

What genre are your books?

I write fantasy, both epic and urban, and horror.

What draws you to this genre?

Probably all the fairy tales Greek myths I read as a child.

Have you always wanted to be an author?

Fun fact #2: my original dream job was drawing comics. Still working on that one.

Oh that’s great! With your busy schedule, do you set time aside to write? Or is it more spontaneous/ when you get a chance?

I set aside at least an hour per day, and try to write at least 1000 words.

What do you like to read?

All forms of fantasy, and paranormal romance.

What are you reading at the moment?

Archangel’s Legion by Nalini Singh and Geology for Dummies by Alecia Spooner. Research, you know.

What is your favorite book and why?

I have a few favorites: the Hero and the Crown and Sunshine by Robin Mckinley, War for the Oaks by Emma Bull, Palimpsest by Catherynne Valente, The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis. I suppose that when I first read them, they were what I’d needed at the time.

What author(s) have inspired you the most?

Hmm… maybe Robin McKinley for her long and awesome career. She has such a distinct voice, and her worldbuilding is phenomenal.

If you could have been the original author to any book, what would it have been and why?

Only my books. I don’t have time to write any others.

Hahaha! Good answer! Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Network, network, network! Get out there, go to book clubs and conferences, meet people and get noticed. You never know who you’ll meet, or who can help you. Or, who you can help.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter, and you’ll learn more about me than you ever wanted to know!

Website: http://jenniferallisprovost.com/
Blog: http://jenniferallisprovost.blogspot.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/copperraven
Twitter: @parthalan
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/jennallis/
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Jennifer-Allis-Provost/e/B003LXSUFU/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2975887.Jennifer_Allis_Provost

Thank you so much Jenn for taking the time to take part in this interview!

Comments are welcome and appreciated. Please leave your thoughts below!

